Resources Navigation

Home  →  Board Meeting Highlights  →  May 19, 2014

May 19, 2014


Board recognizes retiring employees

The 2013-14 retirements of nine district employees were commemorated at the Hamilton School Board meeting. Combined, the employees provided 180 years of service to the district. School Board members read and approved commendations for each employee that reflected comments from supervisors and colleagues, and each retiree was given a retirement gift.




Lannon Elementary School technology integration resources teacher Beth Flehmer


Templeton Middle School communication arts and reading teacher Barbara Furrer


Marcy Elementary School custodian Michael Hart


Maple Avenue Elementary School maintenance staff member Alvin Johnson


Hamilton High School student supervisor Randy Krajewski


Templeton Principal Patricia Polczynski


Willow Springs Learning Center Principal Margee Tackes


Hamilton High School mathematics teacher Carol Frey and district building and grounds staff member Robert McCarty were unable to attend.

Board recognizes Business Advisory Council, student rep

The district’s Community Service Award was presented to members of the district’s Business Advisory Council, executive management staff members from area businesses who meet quarterly to provide feedback and insight about school operations. They included Julie Adams, Steve Baumgartner, Kevin Dary, Keith Everson, Susan Fobes, Robert LaGrant, Heather Pfalz, Jeff Eineichner, Jamie Schounard, Mike Steger and Chris Zuzick.


At the meeting, Fobes, Adams, Baumgartner, Pfalz and Eineichner were on hand to recieve the award.


Hamilton senior Nicole Heling was recognized for her service to the School Board as the student representative during the 2013-14 school year.

Board gives budget OK before Annual Meeting

The Hamilton School Board gave its approval to the 2014-15 budget that will be presented to voters at the June 16 Annual Meeting. The budget is $54.6 million, which is a 3 percent increase over the current budget and includes more than $1 million from the district’s fund balance for the new high school athletic training facility. The tax rate is expected to be $10.28 per $1,000 of equalized property value. This is an increase of 8 cents per $1,000 of value. The district expects to receive $19.04 million in state aid which is a one-third of one percent increase.

Board officers elected

School Board members kept Gabe Kolesari as their president, James Long as vice president, Dawn Van Aacken as clerk and Michael Hyland as treasurer.

Personnel action

In personnel business, the School Board:

  • appointed Erin Steiner as Willow Springs Learning Center principal; and
  • accepted the resignations of Special Services Supervisor Martha Freeman and administrative assistant Lisa Timpone-Lauters, and Marcy paraprofessional Samantha Meyer.