Resources Navigation

Home  →  Board Meeting Highlights  →  June 6, 2012

June 6, 2012


Many recognized for excellence

Hamilton School Board members recognized many students and a staff member at the June 6 meeting including:

  • Templeton seventh-grader Dominic Pino who took second place in the 2012 National History Bee;


  • Hamilton DECA members who successfully competed at the international Career Development Conference;


  • Hamilton Charger Robotics team, including students and adult business mentors,  which earned the FIRST regional Chairman’s Award; and




  • Hamilton’s Dawn Braun who was chosen the Wisconsin Special Education Paraprofessional of the Year.


Open Enrollment applicants placed on waiting list

The School Board approved placing 225 nonresident students who applied to the district under the Open Enrollment on a waiting list for the 2012-13 school year. The district will analyze expected enrollment this summer to determine if students will be recommended for placement at schools based on space availability.

Other business

In other business, the School Board

  • accepted the low bid from the district’s current carrier, M3, for liability, auto, workers’ compensation, errors & omission and other insurance for the 2012-13 school year;
  • approved the Cocurricular Handbook with added concussion legislation to WIAA Rules of Eligibility;
  • approved continued membership in the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association at a cost of $1,100;
  • authorized continued participation in the Second Chance Partners for Education program to provide education-deficient students with a workplace-based program in which they are able to earn their high school diploma;
  • authorized contracting with Cooperative Educational Service Agency (CESA) #1 totaling $189,341 to provide special education and educational support in 2012-13 ; and
  • gave Superintendent Kathleen Cooke, Ph.D., authorization to participate in CESA consortium grants in 2012-13.

Personnel business

In personnel business, the School Board:

  • accepted the resignations of Woodside fourth grade teacher Abigail Janssen and Marcy second grade teacher Amy Werwie;
  • appointed Michelle Mankiewicz as Templeton  sixth grade literacy and social studies teacher, Peter Strebel as Templeton cleaner; Kristen Lee as Maple fifth grade teacher, Adam Scanlan as Woodside fifth grade teacher, Courtney Klein as Woodside kindergarten teacher, Carla Whitehead as Lannon first grade teacher and Nicole Hammer as Hamilton special education teacher;
  • approved 2012-13 leaves of absence for Marcy third grade teacher Kali Restivo and Maple Avenue reading specialist Kelly Herbst.