Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Hamilton Future Educators Club awards scholarships

Hamilton Future Educators Club awards scholarships


Two Hamilton High School alumni, SarahEllen Sankey and Ellen Taylor Scott, were awarded $500 scholarships by Hamilton’s Future Educators Club (FEC). Sankey is a student at St. Norbert College and Scott at University of Wisconsin – Madison.

To qualify for the scholarship, students must be a Hamilton graduate enrolled in a teacher education program and complete one semester of student-teaching during the 2020-21 school year. Applicants were judged based on the information provided in the application, transcript, letter of recommendation and personal essay.

In her personal essay, Sankey said she takes a student-centered approach to teaching.

“As a teacher, I look to show immediacy and be a care worker in the classroom,” Sankey said. “As a care worker in the classroom, I seek to create a safe environment for my future and current students.”

Scott said she knew since she was a child that she wanted to be a teacher.

“I had so many amazing teachers that inspired me to pursue a career as an educator,” she said. “At the core of my teaching philosophy are teacher-student and family-teacher relationships.”

FEC was established in 2017 for Hamilton students interested in pursuing a career in education. Club members attend monthly meetings where they hear from professional educators on topics ranging from school selection, college coursework, clinical experiences, employment outlook and challenges of the profession. The club sponsored  T-shirt sale fundraisers. In addition, this year the Sussex Cousins restaurant donated a portion of sales on Teacher Appreciation Day, May 4, to support FEC’s scholarship program. Other funding comes from staff donations and club activities.

Club advisors are Hamilton High School teachers Penny Komatz and Lauren Rogahn.

Komatz expressed gratitude to those who contributed to the fundraisers that allows FEC to expose students to the expectations of being a teacher and award scholarships to graduates entering the profession.