Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Templeton Bulldogs win championship

Templeton Bulldogs win championship

The Templeton Middle School eighth grade Bulldog Football teams recently combined their efforts to win the Midwest Youth Championship in Wisconsin Dells. In game one, the Bulldogs showed their guts and determination rallying back from a 12-0 halftime deficit against Allouez to win 22-18. A punishing offensive line led Drew Patterson to the end zone three times in the second half. Ryan Warzon and John Phillips also ran the ball well behind Zach Gaatz, Tommy Diehl, Garrett Minor, Brian Dennis, Bryce Figueroa and Austin Mitzel. The defense also clamped down the second half with Patterson leading the charge. Andrew Dauer and Nick Pupp both sacked the Allouez quarterback while Dan Lunowa had an interception.

In the championship game, the defense held a highly explosive Ashwaubenon offense to only three touchdowns, two of which came late in the game. Gino Senymanola, Garrett Minor, Sean Coady and Chris Diaz-Carini each recorded a sack making it a long day for the Jaguars quarterback. Brett Buehler, Dan Lunowa, Brady Ellingson, Alec McShane, Chris Woodall, Nick Creech, Brett Neverman, Tyler Surma and Evan Rentmeester did an outstanding job shutting down the spread offense. The Bulldog offense capitalized on three Jaguar turnovers creating an early 32-6 lead. Scoring for the Bulldogs were Patterson (twice), Gino Senymanola and John Phillips. Tommy Diehl was perfect with four extra points kicked.