Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Hamilton teachers nominated for Kohl recognition

Hamilton teachers nominated for Kohl recognition

Three Hamilton School District teachers were nominated at the regional level for the 2007 Kohl Teacher Fellowship Program. The teachers are Maple Avenue Elementary School fifth grade teacher Christina Garley, Marcy Elementary School first grade teacher Patricia Mayer and Templeton Middle School eighth grade social studies teacher Rhonda Watton.

The 2007 Kohl Teacher Fellowship Program recognizes teachers who have a superior ability to motivate people, inspire a love of learning and provide leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

U.S. Sen. Herb Kohl established the Kohl Foundation Fellowship program in 1990. It is co-sponsored by the Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools and Cooperative Educational Service Agencies.

State selections will be announced in March. A total of 100 Wisconsin teachers and the schools where they teach each will be awarded $1,000 grants.