Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Hamilton students, teacher, principal win Kohl awards

Hamilton students, teacher, principal win Kohl awards

Hamilton High School seniors Abigail Dowse and Maxwell Unger, Marcy Elementary School teacher Callie Lauer and Marcy Principal Michele Trawicki all were chosen recipients of the 2019 Herb Kohl Foundation Awards. They are among 188 graduating students, 100 teachers and 16 principals statewide who will be honored.Kohl-winners-web2

Dowse and Unger each will be presented with a $10,000 Student Excellence Scholarship for demonstrated academic excellence, high motivation to achieve, activity and leadership outside of academics and strong promise for success in college and beyond. Lauer is receiving the Teacher Fellowship based on her superior ability to inspire a love of learning in students and motivate others, and leadership and service within and outside the classroom. Trawicki was chosen for the Principal Leadership Award for setting high standards for instruction, achievement and character, and creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff and community. Awards in the amount of $6,000 will be made to each teacher and principal and their schools.

The recipients were selected by a statewide committee of civic leaders and representatives of the program’s co-sponsors: Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), Association of Wisconsin School Administrators and Wisconsin Parents Association.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist and businessman, in 1990. To date the foundation has awarded $17.8 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said.

Recipients will be honored at regional luncheons where Kohl will present the awards. Dowse, Unger, Lauer and Trawicki will be recognized April 13 at Greenfield High School.