Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Charger Robotics earns 7th Chairman’s Award

Charger Robotics earns 7th Chairman’s Award

Charger Robotics Team 537 came away with success March 9 at the FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) Robotics Miami Valley Regional Competition in Ohio.FIRSTrobotics477Web

For the seventh time in its 19-year history, the Hamilton team earned the regional Chairman’s Award, the most prestigious award in FIRST Robotics competition. No other Wisconsin team has been so highly awarded. The Chairman’s Award was created to recognize teams that have quality robot performances, demonstrate the greatest commitment to spreading passion about science and technology, give generously to their communities and encourage student interest in artistic, business, engineering and technical fields. Team members submit an essay, a three-minute video and give a presentation in front of a panel of judges. Seniors Abigail Dowse and Josie Jauquet and sophomore Maddie Tharp presented on behalf of the team.

The team will compete March 28-30 in the Wisconsin Regional Competition at UW-Milwaukee Panther Arena. A total of 55 Hamilton students and 29 mentors are involved in Charger Robotics which is supported by platinum team sponsors Rexnord Corporation, Rockwell Automation and Hamilton School District. The team is advised by Dave Woods with co-advisor Morgan Swartzendruber. For additional information please visit or