Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Hamilton students qualify for state music festival

Hamilton students qualify for state music festival

Hamilton High School music students participated March 19 in the District Solo and Ensemble Music Festival held at Brown Deer High School. Hamilton band qualified a record 43 events and choir a record 30 events for the state music festival.

Students entered as individual soloists, part of an ensemble or both. A Wisconsin School Music Association (WSMA) judge rated them on a I-V system with I as the highest. Students who performed music from Class A were eligible to receive a *I rating denoting that they will advance to the state music festival April 30 at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

The following band students earned the right to compete at the state festival:

  • Holly Venkitaswaran, piccolo solo;
  • Alexandra Stephens, Holly Venkitaswaran, Sarah Chartrand, Josephine Jauquet, flute solo;
  • Matthew Smith, oboe solo;
  • Kate Meagher, Lauren LaFond, Rhea Last, Anne Perrizo, clarinet solo;
  • Milan Guber, Kevin Ramirez-Soto, Harrison Henry, alto saxophone solo;
  • Emily Bader, tenor saxophone solo
  • Chloe Simchick, French horn solo;
  • Erin Magoon, Ann Marie Krolczyk, Samuel Chapman, Thomas Casper, euphonium solo;
  • Aubrey White, timpani solo;
  • Maxwell Cavadel, snare drum solo;
  • Megan Gundrum, Emily Hartung, piano solo;
  • Emily Smith and Matthew Smith, piano duet
  • Alexandra Stephens and Sarah Chartrand, Anna Wood and Lindsay Macaluso, Cassandra Zimdars and Samantha Moore, flute duet;
  • Jaya Suneja and Neha Rajappa, flute-clarinet duet;
  • Jake Myatt and Rebecca Becker, saxophone duet;
  • Erin Magoon and Thomas Casper, euphonium duet;
  • Kate Meagher, Alexandra Detweiler and Matthew Smith, woodwind trio;
  • Alexandra Oleszczak, Mackenzie Fox and Brittney Putterman, saxophone trio;
  • Chloe Simchick, Megan Jansett and Jonah Brown, horn trio;
  • Holly Venkitaswaran, Cassandra Zimdars, Samantha Moore and Anna Wood, flute quartet
  • Kate Meagher, Rhea Last, Alyssa Prodoehl and Samuel Smith, clarinet quartet;
  • Amanda Joel, Kevin Ramirez-Soto, Daniel Markano and Bailey Sapa, saxophone quartet;
  • Benjamin Pink, Matthew Bettwy, Chloe Simchick, Austin Dalzin and Thomas Casper, brass quintet;
  • jazz ensemble 1;
  • woodwind choir;
  • brass choir;
  • clarinet choir; and
  • saxophone choir.

The following choir students earned the right to compete at the state festival:

  • Krystal Fedie, Jewell Gorges, Haley Rapisarda, Alaina Valuch, Kaitlyn Miller, Macy Caliendo, soprano solo;
  • Lindsey Paquette, Ashley DeJaco, Nicole Utecht, Rebecca Blaedow, Taylor Bui, alto solo;
  • Matthew Lange, Chase Meadows, tenor solo;
  • Salvatore Calatola-Young, Joseph Bolda, bass solo;
  • Jewell Gorges, Nicole Utecht, Josef Samara, Haley Rapisarda, Macy Caliendo, musical theater solo;
  • Kaitlyn Miller and Sharon Willer, Tien Mai and Morgan Frick, Kellie Kuehl and Skylar Cranfield, Veronica Ludin and Lindsey Paquette, soprano-alto duet;
  • Dustin Hartwig and Kaitlyn Miller, soprano-bass duet;
  • Alaina Valuch, Nicole Utecht and Hayley Jasinski, soprano-alto trio;
  • Veronica Ludin, Lindsey Paquette, Ashey DeJaco and Sarah Sankey, soprano-alto barbershop quartet;
  • Josef Samara, Sean O’Dwyer, Jason Schlaman and Borna Riazi, tenor-bass barbershop quartet;
  • Sarah Sankey, Jewell Gorges, Macy Caliendo, Veronica Ludin, Lindsey Paquette, Ashley DeJaco, soprano-alto double trio; and
  • A Cappella Choir , vocal jazz ensemble.