Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Templeton students to compete in regional National History Day

Templeton students to compete in regional National History Day

More than three dozen Templeton Middle School eighth-graders will compete March 28 at the regional level of National History Day. Finalists were selected previously at the school level and will go on to compete at Carroll University.

National History Day is an academic enrichment program for students in grades 6-12. Students select topics connected to an annual theme and complete their own in-depth research on the topic. This year the annual theme is “Leadership and Legacy in History.” Students present their conclusions in a written paper, a performance, an exhibit board, a documentary or a website.

The school event is the first step in a competition cycle that can take students from the school level to regional, state and national competitions. At each level of competition, students share their work with peers, historians, educators and professionals in related fields as they compete for special awards and the opportunity to advance to the next level of competition.

Students from Templeton and their projects advancing to the regional level are:

Group websites:

  • Lisa Nuelk and Hannah Emberts – “Oskar Schindler: Righteous Among Nations”
  • Joseph Spivey, Matthew Mysliwski, Jacob Krenek – “George S. Patton”
  • Ryan Ciolkosz and Jacob Anthony – “Martin Luther King, Jr.: The Man Who Changed a Nation”
  • Noah Laedtke, Zachary Wilcox, Sina Riazi – “Truman and the Atomic Bomb” 

Individual websites:

  • Abigail Dowse – “The Leadership and Legacy of Adolf Hitler”
  • Mabel Jankowski – “J.R.R. Tolkien: Creator of Legends”
  • Aiden Zelakiewicz – “Walt Disney: The King of Animation”
  • Tiffany Pham – “Discovering Disney”
  • Ty Kozic – “Custer: Fearless or Foolish?”
  • Alternate: Jack Shebuski 

Group exhibit boards:

  • Abby DePue and Calla Dane – “Cartoon Connoisseurs”
  • Trang Mai, Laura Kuchar, Mai Vang Thao – “Harriet Tubman: Tracks to Freedom”
  • Connor Sinks and Matthew Wiltsey – “Adolf Hitler”
  • Olivia Neils and Jessica Mysliwski – “Rosa Parks Ave.”
  • Ashley Sromalski and Leslie Castle – “Susan B. Anthony”
  • Alternates: Jenna Dalzin, Alex Moore, Mikayla Cup, Malinda Gammon, Gabrielle Rovge, Emma Kate Knudsen 

Individual exhibit boards:

  • Lindsey Rubelowski – “The Undying Determination of Maric Curie”
  • Rachel Passow – “Lewis Hine: A Picture is Worth 1000 Words”
  • Molly Hubred – “The White Ribbon”
  • Lindsey Sinks – “Irena Sendler”
  • Mia Rogers – “Mackenzie King in WWII”
  • Alternate: Anna Lalicata 


  • Seth Bartos – “Wernher von Braun: Rocket Man”
  • Elise Rades – “The Original Mean Girls”
  • Wyatt Stimson – “The Unknown Genius: The Life of Percy Julian”
  • Katherine Burke – “Westward Expansion: 2 Men, 1 Woman, 1 Mission”
  • Nicole Oberst – “Solid Body Les” 

Group performance:

  • Kaylee Kaiser and Lauryn Robson – “Mussolini: Not Just a Dictator”

Individual performance:

  • Holly Venkitaswaran – “Abigail Adams: Letters to the World”

Group documentary:

  • Ashlyn Rapisarda and Morgan Price – “Wonders of Walt Disney”
  • Michael Willey and Maxwell Lang – “Harry Houdini”
  • Brie Brandt and Neha Rajappa – “Japan Strikes”

Individual documentary:

  • John Weber – “Jim Valvano: Don’t Give Up. Don’t Ever Give Up.”