Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Templeton Junior Robotics Team competes at regional

Templeton Junior Robotics Team competes at regional


Templeton Middle School FIRST Junior Robotics Team recently participated in regional competition at Watertown High School. The theme for this year’s season-ending competition was Nature’s Fury. Students worked cooperatively to design, build and program robots to complete challenges on a Nature’s Fury-themed board. In addition, students researched and developed solutions to problems people face when presented with extreme weather.

Three Templeton teams competed.

Robodogs developed the concept of a house capable of floating above its foundation in the event of a flood.
Templeton Twisters envisioned an exterior sprinkler system integrated into aluminum siding for homes in the path of wildfires. The Twisters team was nominated for the First Lego League Spirit award because of its demonstrated interest and excitement in science, math, engineering and robotics, and the Gracious Professionalism award in recognition of groups that go out of their way to help within the club, school and community.
Evolution 7 designed a system to maintain constant tension on power lines during blizzards when lines are exposed to iceload and falling branches. It was nominated for the Project Award for its design and development.
First Junior Robotics is an afterschool program for students ages 9-14 years where they develop engineering solutions to problems that affect everyday life. For more information visit


Robodogs: (Front row from left) Sean Tat, Shawn Betters, Tyler Bartel, Lucas Wick, Ashlee Albrecht (Back row from left) Samuel Beffa, Jonathan Costa, Shiva Senthil, Kien Rea, Hunter Frederick, Maxwell Aberman


Templeton Twisters: (Front row from left) Ty Kozic, Zachary Sucharski, Hunter Dow, James Lang (Back row from left) Taylor Sohre, Anna Wood, Aubrey White, Christopher Lawrence, Matthew Albrecht, Shawn Cichosz (Not pictured) Abigail Dowse


Evolution 7: (Front row from left) Nicholas Zarling, Tyler McMurray, Mehak Oberoi, Malaya King (Back row from left) Nicholas Wood, Ryan Kahlscheuer, Andrew Tai, Kinnan Lassiter, Rushil Patel (Not pictured) Emma Stokman