Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Hamilton students take awards at state music events

Hamilton students take awards at state music events

.Hamilton High School choral students took first and second places at the Wisconsin School Music Association (WSMA) state competition April 28 at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee:

  • Zachary Weis, first place, solo and first place, music theater solo;
  • Brittany Larson, first place, music theater solo;
  • Abby Angelroth, second place, solo; and
  • Rebecca Borowski and Zachary Weis, second place, duet.

Choral students competed previously in the WSMA District Solo and Ensemble Festival at Homestead High School. Students performed music in events ranging from solos to duets to large concert groups and were critiqued on their performances. The following students received I excellent ratings at the district event:

  • Hailey Van Mullem, Kira Lange, Mary Jo Ludin, Alexandra Fischer and Mandi Ruh, solo;
  • Abby Angelroth, Rebecca Borowski, Bethany Wandsnider, Kimberly Winter, Shelbey Keel and Jordan Kalis, double trio;
  • Erin McKee, Hailey Van Mullem,  Laciane Van Der Linden, Gabriela Furhiman, Angela Hastings and Mary Jo Ludin, double trio; and
  • Blaine Rakowski, Zachary Weis, Nicholas Jablonski, Jake Fugiasco, Daniel Joll and Sam Kivimaki, double trio.

Receiving II very good ratings were:

  • Hailey Van Mullem and Mary Jo Ludin, music theater solo;
  • Brittany Larson, Erin McKee, Blaine Rakowski, Ernest Gray, Parisa Pasangthien, Holly Klima and Nicole Thom, solo;
  • Nicole Thom and Holly Klima, duet;
  • Taylor Rapee, Brooke Layton, Shannon Schmidt, Taylor Schnitzka, Jamie Ott, Erin Russell, Jenna Layton, Nicole Thom, Jessica Klein, triple trio; and
  • Jacob Menzel, Charles Eigner, Bradley Schissel, Zuhayr Tahir, Joseph Rosewicz and Michael Liebham, double trio.

Students receiving III good ratings were:

  • Amanda Phillips, Rebekah Oleson, Rachel Oleson, Kaitlyn Hart, Gabrielle Davies, Amanda Rae Pintor, Lea Griemens, Jessica Hutchison, Kerchia Lee, triple trio;
  • Alexandra Fischer, Brittany Boehler, Mandi Ruh, Parisa Pasangthien, Kira Lange and Brittany Larson, double trio;
  • Aubrey Rupert, Sarah Philippi, Larissa Castle, Sarah O’Leary, Cortney Angelroth and Hannah Jeffers, double trio, and
  • Emily Gutierrez, Lori Wilbur, Holly Klima, Chloe McPherson, Sarah Kotlan and Cristie Franks, double trio.