Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Hamilton students qualify for state music festival

Hamilton students qualify for state music festival

Hamilton High School music students participated March 17 in the North Shore District Solo and Ensemble Music Festival held at Homestead High School. Students entered as individual soloists, part of an ensemble or both. A Wisconsin School Music Association (WSMA) judge rated them on a I-V system with I as the highest. Students who performed music from Class A were eligible to receive a *I rating denoting that they will advance to the state music festival April 28 at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

The following students earned the right to compete at the state festival by earning the *I excellent rating:

  • Shannan Brown, Leah Stapelman, Nicole Zeman and Elizabeth Casper, flute solo;
  • Miranda Brown and Emma Chung, clarinet solo;
  • Aaron Hintz, tenor sax solo;
  • Brian Kerber and Phanpanas Mora, trumpet solo;
  • Michael Scott, euphonium solo;
  • Samuel Leinon, marching quints solo;
  • Leah Stapelman, Michael Scott and Miranda Brown, piano solo;
  • Shannan Brown and Miranda Brown, flute-clarinet duet;
  • Emma Chung and Lauren Spankowski, clarinet duet;
  • Shannan Brown, Leah Stapelman and Megan Hessler, flute trio;
  • Bailee Bobert, Brandon Joel and Kashish Talwar, saxophone trio; and
  • Miranda Brown, Emma Chung, Kelly Verhaalen and Carissa Dowden, clarinet quartet.

Receiving excellent I ratings were:

  • Phanpanas Mora, Alex Magoon, Jared Bazile, Jackson Petermann, Michael Scott, Mitchell Hudson, Matthew McGuire, Aaron Davis, Nicholas Ritter, Brandon Joel, Kashish Talwar, Michelle Bader, Ariel Pershman, Harrison Yu, Devin Sartler, Eric Sabol, Samuel Welter, Kelly Verhaalen, Angela LeDonne, Emily Thoummavong, Akshayaa Lakshmanan, Leah Stapelman, Sarah Germer, Robert Little, Kevin Jansen, Alexander Ludin and Jeremy Nelson, jazz ensemble;
  • Nicholas Ritter, Harrison Yu, Aaron Hintz and Samuel Welter, saxophone quartet;
  • Allison Kline, Beatrice Kuenn and Elizabeth Eichsteadt, woodwind trio;
  • Amolia Nelson, Erin Pagenkopf, Morgan Swartzendruber, Shyanne Savage, Mariah Bazile and Emily Kobs, flute trio;
  • Jared Bazile, Alyssa Kobs, Arturo Sparrow, Anna Sendelbach, Jacqueline Walkowiak and Melanie Sumiec, trumpet trio;
  • Elizabeth Casper and Hannah Bjorklund, flute duet;
  • Sarah Germer and Kevin Jansen, clarinet duet;
  • Bailee Bobert, Megan Hessler, Michelle Bader and Ariel Pershman, alto sax duet;
  • Bryan Ritter and Cody Neverman, trumpet duet;
  • Lydia Salus and Robert Little, horn duet;
  • Melanie Kuntz, Devin Sartler and Dominick Weiman, flute solo;
  • Kelly Verhaalen and Eric Sabol, clarinet solo;
  • Carissa Dowden, bass clarinet solo;
  • Nicholas Ritter and Chong Zhang, alto sax solo;
  • Frances Weiss and Victoria Schulze, trumpet solo;
  • Jacyln Weiss, horn solo; and
  • Jeremy Nelson, drum set solo.

Receiving II very good ratings were:

  • Phanpanas Mora, Devin Sartler, Michael Scott, Jackson Petermann, Samuel Welter, Mathew Olkowski, Robert Little and Alexander Ludin, jazz improvisational combo;
  • Constance Dowden, Sharon Liang, Nicole Zeman and Devin Sartler, flute quartet;
  • Allison Bitz, Nicole Spence and Eric Sabol, woodwind trio;
  • Sarah Cross, Conner Ladwig and Olivia Wick, clarinet trio;
  • Samuel Wishart, Chad Kobs and Ethan Beaudry, trumpet trio;
  • Nicholas Schulze, Matthew McGuire and Alex Zibell, trombone trio;
  • Madeline Oskey, Sharon Liang, Mackenzie Ludin, Colleen O’Neill, Samantha Kollmann, and Rylee Pulvermacher, flute duet;
  • Emily Thoummavong and Angela LeDonne, flute-clarinet duet;
  • Samuel Welter, baritone sax solo;
  • Alex Magoon, trumpet solo;
  • Aaron Davis, horn solo;
  • Jackson Petermann, trumpet solo;
  • Matthew Ciolkosz, baritone solo;
  • Michael Scott and Samuel Welter, piano duet; and
  • Madeline Oskey, Robert Little, Samuel Welter, Eric Sabol and Mariah Bazile, piano solo.