Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Hamilton yearbook earns honors

Hamilton yearbook earns honors

Some don’t think the number 13 is lucky, but it was for the Hamilton High School yearbook staff. For the 13th time in the past 14 years, Hamilton’s Lance Yearbook was awarded the prestigious ALL KEMPA, presented to the top 10 judged books in the Kettle Moraine Press Association.

The 2010-11 yearbook, titled “The Red Book,” was judged among other yearbooks in southeastern Wisconsin and northern Illinois. Students learned about the  success of “The Red Book” Oct. 14 at the 28th KEMPA Journalism Conference at University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

Current yearbook staff members Mariah Schuldt, Hannah Hutchenson, Caroline Hope and Taylor Zoephel, along with former Lance staff member and 2011 Hamilton graduate Emily Schuch were on hand to receive the award. They were accompanied by Hamilton art teacher and Lance adviser Pam Mierow.

In addition to the five at the conference, other 2010-11 staff were Nicole Olson, Bradley Geers, Drue Morris, Kaleigh Hall, Nicole Pena, Rachael Oleson, Rebecca Wandsnider, Kendall Taviolkowski and Amanda Franklin.