Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Foundation presents awards, grants to Hamilton staff

Foundation presents awards, grants to Hamilton staff


The Hamilton Education Foundation presented 18 Hamilton School District staff members with awards at the Aug. 31 Back-to-School Breakfast. Five teachers were presented with A Class Act tributes, another nine teachers were awarded New Horizons Grants and four support staff members received ROSS awards.

A Class Act Tributes salute teachers for meritorious performance in the classroom who are outstanding role models in “enhancing our children’s futures.” These awards went to (from left): Woodside Elementary School teacher Abby Janssen, Lannon Elementary School teachers Kim Weber and Jay Orlowski and Hamilton High School teacher Jon Waite. (Not pictured is Templeton Middle School teacher Jeannette Smith.)

New Horizons grants will fund a total of about $5,000 unique and innovative projects as requested by Hamilton teachers to enrich or supplement teaching efforts and learning activities that directly benefit students.  Each New Horizon Grant offers up to $750 to help implement new ideas into the class curriculum beyond those supported by budgeted school funds. Since its inception in 1991, the Hamilton Education Foundation has awarded nearly $150,000 in New Horizons Grants to more than 322 teachers for projects which have benefitted more than 43,000 students in the elementary, middle and high schools. The following teachers were awarded 2011-12 New Horizons grants: (from left) Maple Avenue Elementary School teachers Kristina Garley and Laura Kasper, Marcy Elementary School teachers Elizabeth Kane-Sidders and Kaye Hunt, and Templeton teachers Kristin Netzel-Muehlenbach and Ellen Smith. (Not pictured are Lannon teachers Kristy Hecker and Moni Lichey, and Templeton teacher Mary Caucutt.)

Recognition of Support Staff (ROSS) tributes are presented to district support staff members who are committed and dedicated to a positive and professional environment in Hamilton schools. The awards went to (from left) Hamilton High School paraprofessional Debbie Ann Curtis, Maple Avenue paraprofessional Eileen Swierczek, Maple Avenue custodian Bill Hahn and (not pictured) Woodside paraprofessional Sally Thompson.