Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Foundation awards, grants to Hamilton staff

Foundation awards, grants to Hamilton staff

The Hamilton Education Foundation awarded “A Class Act” tributes to seven Hamilton School District teachers and New Horizons Grants to another 19 staff members at the Aug. 31 Back-to-School Breakfast.

A Class Act Tributes are presented to teachers for exemplary performance in the classroom, professional commitment, leadership, education and service to young people. These awards went to (from left): Arlyn Clarksen, Templeton technology education teacher; Rhonda Watton, Templeton eighth grade social studies; Beth Schaefer, Marcy fourth grade teacher; Beverly Konkol, Woodside third grade teacher; Kathryn Schulz, Willow Springs 4-year-old kindergarten teacher; and Susan Blackford, Hamilton special education teacher. (Not pictured is Lannon first grade teacher Jennifer Johnson. teacher.)

New Horizons grants will fund a total of $10,632 for creative and resourceful student projects: Teachers awarded the grants were (front row, from left) Lisa Merritt, Kathy Theis, John Washbush, Kathy Rankin, Arlyn Clarksen, Lisa Schmeling, Jenifer Ortlieb, Jill Matarrese, (back row) Kelly Wurth, Pamela Welter, Amy Hilgenberg, Christina Garley, Rita Forrester, Christine Raabe, Barbara Michalak, Lettye Bertram, Heidi Zaner, Monika Sawall and Daniel Westfahl.