Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Hamilton students honored for community service

Hamilton students honored for community service

Heather Slinde was named Hamilton High School’s volunteer of the year in the 2004 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program. In addition, Hamilton student Kelsie Tripp will receive a certificate of merit for her volunteer community service.

Sponsored by Prudential Financial and the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP), the awards recognize outstanding community service.

“Heather is an excellent student who is focused on and committed to making a positive difference in her community,” Hamilton High School Principal David Furrer said.

Slinde is eligible for Wisconsin youth volunteer of the year awards. Two state honorees, one middle level and one high school student, will each receive a $1,000 award, a silver medallion and a trip to Washington D.C. for recognition ceremonies in May. Other honorees will receive bronze medallions or certificates of excellence. State honorees will be named in February. At the Washington event, ten National Honorees will be named by a national panel of judges, and each will receive an additional $5,000, a gold medallion, and a crystal trophy for his or her school organization.

“Most awards given to students these days recognize academic or athletic performance,” said Prudential Chairman Arthur F. Ryan. “We believe it’s equally important to reward and celebrate young people who see important needs in their communities and commit themselves to meeting those needs.”

“These young people who win these awards through their tremendous volunteer efforts serve to inspire young and old alike to make a positive difference in their own communities,” said NASSP Executive Director Gerald Tirozzi.

The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards are supported by Girl Scouts of the USA, National 4-H Council, Camp Fire USA, American Red Cross, YMCA of the USA, the Volunteer Center National Network affiliated with the Points of Light Foundation and many national education associations.