Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  District robotics teams advance to Sectionals

District robotics teams advance to Sectionals

Templeton Middle School and Silver Spring Intermediate Charger Robotics Teams, Cyber Turtles and Radioactive Pyros, advanced to the FIRST® LEGO® League (FLL) Sectionals as a result of successful showings at recent competitions.

Cyber Turtles won the prestigious Champions Award at the Nov. 13 Marquette Regionals. The Champions Award is given to the team that embodies the FLL experience by fully embracing the FIRST® Core Values while achieving excellence and innovation in both the Robot Game and the Innovation Project. The team also brought home the Robot Performance Award given for the highest robot point total. After completing three perfect matches, Cyber Turtles finished with a high score of 445 points.

Radioactive Pyros won the Innovation Project Award at the Nov. 20 Mukwonago Regionals. The award is given to the team that uses diverse resources to gain a comprehensive understanding of the identified problem, develops a creative and well-researched solution and effectively communicates findings to judges and the community. Radioactive Pyros finished with a robot high score of 315 points, which was a three-way tie for the highest points scored.

Both teams will advance to the Dec. 18 Waukesha Sectionals.

Cyber Turtles, from left, front row: Wade Gonzalez, Elise Fuhr, Shaanvi Konda Gopinath, Niall Hunt
Back row: Aanya Ranasaria, Rowan Hunt, Disha Deepak, Zara Sagna

Radioactive Pyros, from left: Lauryn Heine, Tejasi Hublikar, Deekshitha Premchand, Tyler Pauli, Ethan Liao, Akshita Viza, Joseph Datka Jr. Not pictured: Audrey Almquist