Resources Navigation

Home  →  News Releases  →  Six Hamilton students recognized in NMSC competition

Six Hamilton students recognized in NMSC competition

Six Hamilton High School students learned recently that they were named in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. Eligibility for the distinction is based on results of the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test which was taken by more than 1.5 million students nationwide.

Dhruv Ahuja, Alayna Fry, Aayush Iyengar and Nicolas Vera Paez were named semifinalists. They are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide and will continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal and earn SAT scores that confirm the students’ earlier test performance.

James Strasburg and Molly Wrobleski were named commended students and are among 34,000 students recognized for exceptional academic promise. Although commended students do not continue in the competition, they were recognized on the basis of a national selection index score.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), established in 1955, is a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions to honor the nation’s scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence.