Resources Navigation

Home  →  District  →  2023-24 Budget & Annual Meeting  →  Budget Hearing and Annual Meeting minutes 2022-23

Budget Hearing and Annual Meeting minutes 2022-23

Budget Hearing Minutes August 15, 2022 — 6:15 p.m.

School Board Vice President Jay Jones called the hearing to order at 6:15 p.m. and Board Clerk Dawn Van Aacken read the meeting notice.

Business Services Assistant Superintendent Shelli Reilly shared a slide presentation highlighting projects and purchases for the Hamilton School District during the 2021-22 school year.  Ms. Reilly reviewed the proposed 2022-23 budget including:

EXPENDITURES – total $70,581,975INSTRUCTIONAL – total $38,647,926
Salary & Fringes – 75.65%   Undifferentiated – 40.96%
Purchased Services – 20.33%Regular – 31.46%
Non-Capital Objects – 2.21% Vocational – 4.13%
Capital Objects – 0.60% Physical Education – 4.63%
Debt Retirement – 0.22%Special Education – 16.81%
Insurance & Judgments – 0.73%Co-Curricular – 1.76%
Other Objects – 0.26%Other Special Needs – 0.26%
OPERATIONAL BUDGET – total $70,581,975REVENUE FUND 10 & 27 – total $68,481,975
Instruction – 54.76%       Tax Levy – 41.05%
Support Services – 40.84%State Aids – 49.02%
Non-Program Transactions – 4.40%Local Sources – 1.90%
Interdistrict/Interm. Sources – 1.74%
Grants – 6.29%

Ms. Reilly presented slides which included the following topics: overview of community growth, capital improvements, federal funding, budget increase, general state aid, equalization valuation trend, valuation growth, membership trends, mil rate trends, taxes receivable, cost per pupil, budget summary by comparison, object versus total budget and tax levy projections.

The budget meeting was adjourned at 6:57 p.m.

Annual Meeting Minutes August 15, 2022— 7:30 p.m.

School Board Vice President Jay Jones called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.

Vice President Jones introduced the Board members.

Motion by Jennifer Waltz, seconded by Dawn Van Aacken, resolved to approve the agenda. Voice vote on agenda. Motion carried.

Van Aacken read the official meeting notice publication.

Motion by Van Aacken, seconded by Ray Jones, to nominate Jennifer Waltz, to serve as chairperson of the Annual Meeting. (There were no other nominations). Voice vote on nomination of chairperson. Motion carried.

Superintendent Paul Mielke presented the “Year in Review.”

Jennifer Waltz read the voter eligibility rules – must be 18 years of age and a resident of the Hamilton School District for at least 28 days prior to the meeting.

RESOLUTION A: Approval to Lease District Property for Farming Purposes
Motion by John Peterson, seconded by Cathy Drago, resolved that that the school board is hereby authorized, as provided by Hamilton School District Board Policy 656, to negotiate and execute a lease of district property for farming purposes effective for the 2023 growing season: approximately 55 acres on Clover Lane and Hwy. VV; and approximately 38 acres on Plainview Road. Voice vote on Resolution A. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION B: Adoption of Tax Levy
Motion by Cindy Rossman, seconded by Melissa Petrie, resolved that a tax for the operation and maintenance of the schools in the amount of $ 28,112,417, a tax for debt retirement in the amount of $7,747,906, a tax for chargebacks in the amount of $0, and tax for community services fund of $33,000 for a total of *$35,893,323, be levied upon the taxable property of the district for the 2022-23 school year.. Voice vote on Resolution B. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION C: Salaries of School Board Members
Motion by Barbara Fleming, seconded by Cindy Rossman, to approve the annual salary rate of $5,335 for Hamilton School District Board of Education members for the 2022-23 school year. Voice vote on Resolution C. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION D: Reimbursement of Board Members’ Expense
Motion by Cindy Rossman, seconded by Ray Jones, resolved that payment be authorized for actual and necessary expenses and for actual loss of earnings for School Board members when such expenses are incurred in the performance of their duties. Voice vote on Resolution D. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION E: Board Authority to Establish Date and Time for Annual Meeting
Motion by Ray Jones, seconded by Melissa Petrie, resolved that the 2023 Annual Meeting will be at a time and on a date selected by the School Board. Voice vote on Resolution E. Motion carried.

Motion by Dean Heberer, seconded by Cindy Rossman, resolved to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote on motion to adjourn. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 8:00 p.m.